February 10, 2021
Destinations, Latin America, Peru-EN, Press Releases

Peru Imposes Mandatory Quarantine for Travelers

Updated February 9th, 2021

As of January 15th, 2021, Peru has implemented a mandatory quarantine with the option to “test out”. This quarantine is being put in place along with other measures in order to help curb the spread of COVID-19. See below for the new restrictions and how they might affect your travel plans.

Mandatory Quarantine Order in Effect Until January 31, 2021

Travelers arriving to Peru must provide proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken at least 72 hours prior to arrival. Furthermore, upon arrival all travelers must quarantine for 14 days. This applies to all arrivals from out of country, including nationals and residents. On the 6th day of quarantine, travelers have the option to “test out.” If this second test is negative, travelers are allowed to exit quarantine early.

These new travel restrictions went into place on January 15, 2021 and will be re-evaluated every 15 days starting on January 31st. Please keep checking back here for updates as events warrant.

Travel Ban for Visitors From Brasil, South Africa, and Europe

Any traveler from Brasil, South Africa, or Europe who does not hold Peruvian citizenship or resident status will be denied entry. This order includes residents of Brasil, South Africa, and Europe, and also any foreign national who has visited or had a layover in either of the two locales.

Regional Curfews in Place Based on Local Infectivity Rate

A new set of curfews have been implemented country-wide. The specific restrictions vary based on each region’s COVID-19 infectivity rate. There are three threat levels – “High”, “Very High”, and “Extreme”. Please see below for specific restrictions in each region:

Regions with High Level Restrictions in Place

A mandatory curfew from 9 PM through 4 AM daily has been put in place for the following regions. Additionally, commercial business must maintain a maximum 50% capacity and restaurants are limited to 60% capacity. Private vehicles are prohibited on Sundays.

  • Piura
  • Lambayeque
  • La Libertad
  • Loreto
  • San Martin
  • Ucayali
  • Madre de Dios

Regions With Very High Level Restrictions in Place

A mandatory curfew from 8 PM through 4 AM daily has been put in place for the following regions. Additionally, commercial business must maintain a maximum 40% capacity and restaurants are limited to 50% capacity. Tourist areas like museums remain closed. Private vehicles are prohibited on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Arequipa
  • Tumbes
  • Cajamarca
  • Ayacucho
  • Puno
  • Cusco
  • Moquegua
  • Tacna

Regions With Extreme Level Restrictions in Place

There is a 24-hour curfew in place in the following areas. Individuals are only allowed to leave their lodging for a maximum of one hour daily and only between the hours of 6 AM to 6 PM. Private vehicles are prohibited except for essential workers. Restaurants, tourist areas, and other public spaces remain closed.

  • Ancash
  • Ica
  • Junin
  • Pasco
  • Lima Provinces (including metropolitan Lima)
  • Apurimac

This information has been compiled from official governmental decrees and translated from Spanish. Please see the original text of the order at the links below.

For more information find us at one of our Tom Tours Agencia de Viajes branches or online.


19 West 34th Street
Suite #906
New York City, NY 10001
Phone (212) 947-4343
Fax (212) 947-3535
Obtener direcciones


71-32 Roosevelt Avenue
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
Phone (718) 429-1940
Fax (718) 429-1684
Obtener direcciones


50 Clinton Street
Suite 104
Hempstead, NY 11550
Phone (516) 539-7575
Fax (516) 505-0782
Obtener direcciones


750 Suffolk Avenue
Brentwood, NY 11717
Phone (631) 231-7777
Fax (631) 231 5971
Obtener direcciones


4214 Bergenline Avenue
Union City, NJ 07087
Phone (201) 392-0600
Fax (201) 624-1210
Obtener direcciones

💬 ¿Necesitas ayuda?
Agente de Tomtours
Hola 👋
¿En qué puedo ayudarte?